The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Partition

2 Comments

From my sickbed I have watched a lot of TV. Currently on the BBC there is a new series on The Partition of India. I couldn’t be bothered to watch it. I know it will be ‘All gong and no dinner’ to quote Mandela. I think the 2013 documentary was very moving – and refined.

I really think quality on the BBC is in a retrograde. It’s  dishing up the most ghastly biased stuff – nation-grooming. Propaganda really.

Partition was a dreadful thing for which the British have been blamed. Nehru, Gandhi and Britain wanted a unified India. It was Muhammad Ali Jinnah who deserves some blame.  It was he demanding a separate nation for Muslims.

I wonder how well things would have gone if the old India had just continued on as one nation? Maybe Jinnah died in the midst of the horror because he realised what his insistence on division had led to? He was the most intransigent of the leaders in India at the time.

Whereas Nehru and Gandhi became hated for selling out to him,  Jinnah

‘ remains Pakistan’s greatest leader.’

Millions suffered and died in the most botched operation of modern history, Muslims, Sikhs and Hindus alike.

Good program to watch here. (It’s Sunday – you’ll have time?)

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

2 thoughts on “Partition

  1. It is mercury retrograde for the next three weeks! Have fun, change your mind, get better.

    Liked by 1 person

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

