The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Escaping from a sinking car

4 Comments

Several years ago our friend and her dog died in her car when it was pulled into the river in a flood. The shock of that kind of event is unbelievable. It’s always something that happens to someone else – never to anyone YOU know.

Coming in from Africa, I always thought British rivers were a bit small – pretty places with ducks and swans and stepping-stones. Yet someone was always drowning in them! And all the classics had people disappearing, drowning, committing suicide or purposefully murdered in them like a Silas Marner/Thomas Hardy sort of plot.

But I have completely changed my view! They ARE  small – pretty places fringed with forests,  – with ducks and swans and stepping-stones.  I love them. But they are DEADLY in heavy rain, or a wall of water.

Where we used to live in t’coontray, people got killed by them – regularly.

But our friend might still have been alive if she’d known this – get OUT of your car as soon as you hit the water. Open the windows and climb out.  Everyone should see this video. So I’m posting it here. I want The Furlong Family to see it too.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

4 thoughts on “Escaping from a sinking car

  1. Edit* “They ARE small – pretty places fringed with housing estates, dog shit and used needles, – with rusting shopping carts and beer cans and couples dogging”

    I have just corrected your spelling mistakes. No, no need to thank, just doing my job M’am *tips stetson*

    Liked by 1 person

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

