The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Oh heck – internet ads

2 Comments

I fell in love with computers the moment I first saw one.  At first there wasn’t a browser for the World Wide Web – a very new, new, and wondrous thing! The web browser that we first used was Netscape .

So I’ve been around the internet for all it’s life.

In the beginning, it was pretty bland – grey and black really. Information. Then, suddenly people could have a ‘Web Page’ – there was flashy colour, blinking banners and glistening side bars and firework gifs.

I could handle that, because, it was still mainly writing. And if you didn’t like it you just closed the window.

Then, the advertising began. Once adverts were simply embedded in the page. If you wanted to see them, you could ‘click the link’. We had some control.

I remember the birth of Google. Wondrous thing!

Hum.

I remember the birth of  Bebo, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and others.

Oh – and YouTube.

Now we are out of control! We are forced to interact with all the bloody adverts!

This morning I was going to post a blog about my bad pain day today and the fact that I also cut my tongue eating Pork Crackling so that that’s sore too, and report on my NHS Physio.

But I forgot all that in my rage that to read one article in an online newspaper, I had to navigate a flurry of other pages opening up, without my permission offering me all sorts of crud. In the end, I got so confused working out which close x was attached to which advert, I accidentally closed ALL my tabs!

Oh, for the good old days!

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

2 thoughts on “Oh heck – internet ads

  1. Even more annoying is the ‘arms race’ between the Adblockers and the anti-ad blockers. At the moment I use uBlock and Bluhell – they seem to do a good job most of the time. Used to use No Script which was excellent but I kept forgetting to turn it off everytime i wanted to do something like pay a bill.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ad-blocker works for me. It tells me today that in the six months since it was installed it has blocked over 200,000 annoying ads. Puts it into perspective methinks. Any site that complains about it just means I don’t visit that site again. So “ya boo sucks” to them. The info can always be found elsewhere without the hassle.

    Liked by 1 person

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

