The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

My “heart attack” night

10 Comments

Mr Furlong and I have taken to sleeping in separate beds. We don’t “fit” anymore.

I have a sore wrist and forearm that only troubles me at night and I have to stretch it out on the bed to get comfortable. And Mr Furlong has shoulder pain for which he has to do the same.

But in the opposite direction.

So we each sleep in a separate double bed.

Night before last, I decided it was my pillow that was causing my arm discomfort, so I slept with completely different pillows – soft and squidgee.

Also, just to set the scene, I had over-eaten on prawns and avocado at supper.

At three AM I awoke with THE most terrible heartburn, ever, ever in my life and a hell of a pain high up between my shoulder blades under the nobble at the base of my neck.

I decided I was having a heart attack.

I imagined all sorts of horrible problems like having to wake Mr Furlong and which vaping device I should take to hospital when he took me, and whether I should put on my makeup!

But, Vicks Vapo Rub applied awkwardly to the neck nobble and two ant acid pills, seemed to ease my pain.

And the return to my old pillows helped. I sat-up-slept for the rest of the night.

Last night, I tried eating less, another, different selection of firmer pillows, and Vicks rub on the nobble.

And, yes, thanks for asking, I feel much better today!

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

10 thoughts on “My “heart attack” night

  1. Try not to eat at least three hours before going to sleep. Four hours is better. Many people think they are having a heart attack from eating too late at night.
    It is a bit hard to begin with, but well worth the effort of breaking a habit.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dunno how often you go to the doc, but if you’re over 50 or so it certainly wouldn’t hurt to make an appointment (after describing why) and see if he/she recommends an EKG. It’ quite possible to have a *small* heart attack (Actually I think what could be considered very small heart attacks without emergency results *may* be more common than people realize — not a doc here so I don’t really know!) that would show up on an EKG and it’s possible that a simple med regimen could greatly reduce the risk of a larger one.

    – MJM, who is, as noted, NOT a doctor!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Why I thought it was a heart attack is because Mr Furlong had exactly that kind of heart attack for real! Only there were several things I didn’t have that he had. He was booked in for an EKG and had the heart attack before his appointment! He refused to believe me he was having a heart attack, but I dragged him off to the emegency room nevertheless. It WAS and they were wonderful! He lives! He lives on millions of pills! And more pills for the side effects of the pills. I couldn’t be doing with that. A heart attck would be my chosen mode of death!

      Like

  3. Pingback: So my ‘heart attack’might be something else… | The Last Furlong

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

