The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

What is wrong with these people?

5 Comments

I cannot understand the arrogance and stubbornness of these two young people who have been SO DETERMINED to keep their child alive at all costs.

The cost is mostly the child’s!

This has dragged on for months, ¬†extending Charlie’s probable suffering. It should have been decided at the beginning that all hope was lost and the most LOVING thing to do would be to turn off the machines.

I would not like us to return to the practise that an old midwife told me about in times past. They made no effort to save babies that were considered “wrong uns”. They had faith that death was a better option than survival. Nowadays we have technology that can give “wrong uns” good lives compared to the 1920’s.

But we have become obsessed with life at all costs – at ALL costs.

Are these poor young people not courageous enough to admit it would be better for Charlie, for them, for society, to agree to turning off the life support machines?

“European Court judges have now concluded it was most likely Charlie was “being exposed to continued pain, suffering and distress” and undergoing experimental treatment with “no prospects of success… would offer no benefit”.” Link

The most loving thing we can do for the precious people (and pets!) in our lives, is to free them from suffering if they need us to.  There is no BLAME in that.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

5 thoughts on “What is wrong with these people?

  1. I see it somewhat differently. It is never wrong IMO, in these days of euthanasia on demand and drive in abortion to demand that ‘society’ or the state consider all the issues before taking the life of anyone, especially those who cannot speak for themselves. ‘whatsoever you do to the least of mine…’
    Also I think , yet again, we see in this particular case why the ECHR et al is such a good idea. Or do we subscribe to the view that our great British judges always get it right all the time?

    Liked by 1 person

    • About the judges – how many times has everyone else – doctors AND judges had the same opinion? How many times do you have to require another opinion? European Union should have nothing to do with us!

      But, better still, is mindset!

      Like

      • How many times? 7 times 70 perhaps, what ‘price’ a life? I agree the EU should have nothing to do with us, they should kick us to the kerb, but fortunately for us at the moment they still do. Although if i were a brexiteur I would be asking myself if my spoon is really long enough to sup with the D…
        …UP.

        Whilst I don’t agree with the parents , in my opinion misguided actions, I am very glad that there is still an option to have the decisions of our great british judges looked at again.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. On the topic of Brexit, my brother- whom I didn’t know was particularly interested in such things, what with him being all ‘arty’ & a landscape photographer living on the banks of some Loch in Scotland, sent me this last night which I think does sum things up rather nicely:

    Liked by 1 person

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

