The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Islam via “find”

1 Comment

I inherited a Quran from my grandmother when I was young. I read it. I was astonished that parts of it were not too different from The Bible with “Bible Stories” and Jesus mentioned.

But I’ve lost the book – or lent it.

So, using modern technology I downloaded a Quran. Just as I remember the absolute boredom of reading through the “begets” in the Old Testament, when I struggled through the whole King James Bible as a young person,  I find my brain seizing up with the medieval text of the Quran.

So I’m analysing it with “find”. I just found “love” is mentioned 78 times. So I whizzed through. None of those times were about humans loving each other, but only about what God loves in humans.

“Peace” is mentioned 56 times and it seems to represent a wish  – “Peace be apon you” rather than a state of  stable governance.

“Kill”  appears 95 times. Most of the “kills” are complaints about that done against the followers. I could find 4 “kill” instructions directly to followers to do against non followers – with a smattering of chopping off of hands and feet. And 2 “execute” instructions.

Beside there being a whole chapter called “Women”, “women” are mentioned 126 times.

Oh dear, my studies are delayed. “Women” is taking up a whole lot of my attention!

I shall have to continue this in another post…

“Peace be with you/upon you” in the meantime.

I enjoyed this movie Part 1 today, Part 2 tomorrow

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

One thought on “Islam via “find”

  1. One thing that might make the New Testament and the Quoran quite different: I believe the NT was written down or put into very solid oral status during the first hundred years A.D. Christians had been persecuted but weren’t strong enough to fight back. The Quoran on the other hand was (I think) written during a period when the Muslims were strong enough that there WERE fights going on. Thus you’d expect the Quoran to me more along the lines of Christian Encyclicals and such during the just pre- or early Middle Ages.

    My history MAY be all off on the above though… not really something I”ve looked at closely.

    – MJM

    Like

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

