The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

It has only happened twice to me

5 Comments

There has been twice in my life when I have had to turn the BBC News off for being overcome with emotion. 

The first time was watching the Twin Towers fall.

And the second was watching Grenfell Towers burn.

What a terrible thing.

My heart bleeds.

I’m SO sorry.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

5 thoughts on “It has only happened twice to me

  1. It didn’t take very long for ordinary people not versed in the subject of cladding to realise that the outside of the building had caught fire. “How could this be?” was my first thought. But it is what happened.
    The heat from inside broke a window, letting out the fire. And the heat from outside broke windows, letting the fire in.
    Lack of fire alarms and sprinklers didn’t help.

    All I know is that when I renovated a block of flats in 1972 I was ordered By Law to use flame retardant materials.

    It is appalling that human life could be treated with such contempt for the sake of profit.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Absolutely hit the nail on the head. There is also something inhuman in having 600 people living in tiny flats in one block. I visited someone in one of those similar flats in 1974 in Southampton. They were delighted – the block was brand new, so it was the same era. To them, it was a great improvement on where they were living before. I thought it was really pokey with a tiny tiny balcony high in the sky. Dreadful to my mind.

      Like

      • I don’t have a problem with this, assuming that it was safe. Which it should have been. And could have been. We don’t all get to live in perfect conditions. And sometimes a pokey flat is better than nothing. Although not for me.

        I had nothing and three children, so I got off my backside and found something more to my liking for the well being of my children. Although I was offered such a place.

        I am gutted by the fact that so many people were put at such appalling risk. But you would never have caught me and mine in anything like that.

        Liked by 1 person

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

