The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Giving up addictions through guilt

2 Comments

The Furlongs are not smokers, even though our children were brought up in a smoking home.  I smoked for fifty years, but now I vape. God help anyone who tries to stop me doing THAT.

I have long had a theory that people should want to give up smoking as a reason for giving up smoking. They should WANT to stop smoking. Giving up because of outside persuasion, pressure, feelings of guilt, nagging, Tobacco Control, social manipulation, is bad for your health. You will simply manifest something else to take its place.

Smokers smoke for a reason, unknown, deeply necessary to each person separately and individually.

Some years ago a friend nagged her husband incessantly to stop smoking. I told her about my theory – but her eyes glazed over – I could tell, in her righteousness, she was not listening.

This was the same friend, who told me, in my lounge, well plastered on many bottles of our red wine, “Shmokersz are thu shcourge of the earth!” Mmmm.

Anyway, back to the story. Her poor husband got himself off smoking with great difficulty and then he got ill. That coupled with the red wine problem of his wife, ended the marriage.

I could have said “See? I told you so”.

But after the “Shmokersz are thu shcourge of the earth!” comment made as I was stubbing out my tiny home-rolled cigarette in my own ashtray, in my own home, my feelings of friendship for her had rather dissipated.

Some people can’t see the mote in their own eyes because the size of it blinds them.

Addiction to alcohol is really not good for you! But alcoholics drink for a reason, unknown, deeply necessary to each person separately and individually.

They have to WANT to stop drinking.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

2 thoughts on “Giving up addictions through guilt

  1. VERY well noted! While the antismoking campaigns *may* be able to point to better health overall due to decreased smoking, they *NEVER* take into account the harms caused by their campaigning — harms to both smokers and to society in general. And even harms to those smokers that they’ve driven into quitting smoking.

    I have known smokers who have avoided going to hospitals and, most particularly, mental hospitals at times when they needed to because of smoking bans. I have also known older smokers whose social lives were totally disrupted when bans hit their favorite diners, bingos, bars, and clubs. I have even known a few who retreated into their homes and, despite previously being vibrant and healthy, seemed to quickly fade and then actually pass away.

    :/
    MJM

    Liked by 1 person

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

