The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Everywhere is UP or DOWN here

1 Comment

Everywhere is UP or DOWN here. It’s killing my knees! I have always struggled with DOWN. The heat has been draining when we first arrived and I’m eating the wrong food and too much of it. Everything seems an enormous effort!

We have been exploring. Since the rain a day or two back, it has been cooler. We have been to see perched villages we haven’t seen last time. We realise that though I moan about the steepness of Tourettes, it is nothing compared to others. Also, it is tiny. It is not stunning to see from the valley like the others are. Yesterday we went to Seillans. Wow. Beautiful. Lots of artists. Very steep.

Vehicles are really difficult to drive through all the perched villages. They are centuries and centuries old and the buildings are all piled up on top of each other as if some sky architect dropped a muddled clump of buildings on top of a mountain by accident. They are meant for donkeys and small carts! The satnav is virtually useless in them, sending us up no entry roads and donkey tracks.

Tourettes Var, where we are staying, is the smallest of all the perched villages I think. And the town crest is a donkey. We heard the donkey here the first day we were here, but not since. I’m trying to get it on tape. You wouldn’t believe how loudly it brays. Centuries ago there would have been hundreds of them working here.

The food on this premises has been delicious. The cook (Mr Furlong) is excelling himself.

The cook is well. I am astonished at what a fantastic memory he has for people’s names! We have been around seeing people we met last time, in various shops and the market. He remembers their names and what their pets were and where they come from – like Corsica, whatever. He is really remarkable. I don’t know how he does it.

The cook’s wife (Mrs Furlong aka me) is a bit of a mess! The knees are much better in the cooler weather, but my very lower back hurts at every step. I went swimming. I did my swimming exercises, but there are no rails round the pool, so I had to hang on to the curved cement edge of the pool, and I think I’ve now pulled a muscle in my arm. I sound like a total hypochondriac. Now I’ve got a sore arm – my only working arm – that hurts too now. I wish there were nettles here – I’d sort the pain out quick. All I can find in the medicine cupboard here is Ibuprofen rub and I think that’s fairly useless.

SAM_0516

This week we are hoping to go along the Riviera by train.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

One thought on “Everywhere is UP or DOWN here

  1. Coming down Ben Nevis was much harder than going up.

    Try Hemp Oil for aching joints. You drink it by one desert spoon a day. It actually works. It is medicinal and you don’t go off on a high.

    Liked by 1 person

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

