The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Hunting the beast

2 Comments

I think there is something odd about our new house flat.

I call it the Bermuda Triangle residence.

Things go missing. Weird things happen.

The area we live in now must be a quarter of the size we are used to. I knew where everything was at our old house.

Here, with less room, we can’t find a damn thing!

So it’s a very tiny space.

Now, the new thing is that at EXACTLY three thirty EVERY afternoon, an alarm goes off in the passage area. I know which alarm it is. It’s my tiny white alarm that times things. It’s one of the things I’ve lost. It’s about two inches by two inches and I cannot remember ever having set it for exactly three thirty in the afternoon every twenty-four hours. Why would I DO such a thing?

Do you think we can find it?

No.

Every afternoon we are there listening, cocking our heads, wondering where the hell the peep peep peep is coming from.

We have unpacked every wretched thing in the area we think the beast lurks, but to no avail. Unless it’s burrowed under the floor – and that’s impossible because this place was built in 1952 with a concrete floor. To World War Two bomb-shelter specifications actually!

So daily we hunt the beast.

And look for things we’ve lost.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

2 thoughts on “Hunting the beast

  1. Pingback: The beast strikes again | The Last Furlong

  2. Pingback: The beast strikes again | The Last Furlong

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

