The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Once apon a time twenty years ago

Leave a comment

I very seldom go shopping. I avoid shopping. I worked in retail clothing as a manager of a brand in a big store once. They used a markup of nearly 400% on their clothing. While I was there, they changed their embroidery and clothing manufacture to China (or somewhere there). All the “made in the UK” labels disappeared. I remember a small protest from people who arrived at my counter saying they were never going to buy from us again. They “only bought stuff made in the UK”.

Little chance of that now.

The new clothes that came onto our rails, that were now made in another country, still had a 400% markup.

I view big shops as an enemy.

For years I have not bought any clothing, except from small charities or clothing tables at a market where I can see who is getting my money. And I wear other people’s throw outs with pleasure. That way, the main theft only happens once – and not to me!

But yesterday, my sister took me to a huge local Garden Shop. I’ve never worked in a garden shop, so I can’t say what their markup is. I enjoyed it. I saw all the harassed staff, who have probably been told to smile up or ship out, processing all my sister’s needs. Pebbles, in this case. She bought pebbles – and clothes. And she looked at the shoes. Oh my – it’s always the shoes!

So we bought pebbles and clothes at a Garden Shop!

I would guess the markup was about 400%. But that would be twenty years ago of course….I wonder what it is nowadays?

I’ll stick to my old buying habits I think. I do like to know that the person I’m buying from, is getting the profit.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

