The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Death by pencil

Leave a comment

Oh РI get SO tired of the stupidity/insanity in the world. Since my last post, many different news items have caught my eye, I could have written about anyone of them.

But

today, I’m talking pencils.

Oh

and crayons.

The EU, in their infinite wisdom. and desire to make the world a safer place, have banned Coloured Pencils and Crayons over the limit in lead.

“Even pencils and crayons sold in set will be affected as if just one colour in the pack does not meet the lead limit the entire set can not be sold anymore.

The reduction comes following EU calculations which assumed a child eats 100 milligrams of the toy material every day – equal to munching on 18 pencils a year.”

Link

What I want to know, is where is the science recording death, damage and disability from eating eighteen pencils a year and can you separate assumption from stupidity?

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

