The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

This old house and high blood sugar

Leave a comment

If you follow my blog, you will know I cannot fathom what the hell has gone wrong with my blood sugar which has risen since we moved into our tiny new flat, here, in July last year.

It’s a puzzlement!

I proceed with my high fat low carb diet as I have successfully done for many years, but my blood sugar level has nudged up into the “just diabetic” range. I know, in April, when I go for my dreaded HbA1c , I’m going to FAIL! My mission is to avoid the “diabetes” tag at the doctors.

But

I think I know the cause!

The Furlong daughter with the allergic child (see various posts), texted me with a brilliant insight.

It’s this old house!

We lived in a much larger house with many more rooms. And it had a staircaseĀ traversed constantly. It had a much larger garden. It had animals in it. Lots of things to care for.

More rooms to walk through, more stairs, more space, more housework, more gardening, more things to see and do. Much more activity that I was unaware of.

I had more exercise!

Here, I have a tiny flat. Housework takes seconds. Gardening takes minutes. Nothing much happens. And I love it. It’s peacefull, tranquil, safe, cosy, a place of rest and retirement. I have become sedentary.

Gotto fix that. Gotto blow this lifestyle up!

This ole house once knew his children
This ole house once new his wife
This ole house was home and comfort
As they fought the storms of life
This ole house once rang with laughter
This ole house heard many shouts
Now he trembles in the darkness
When the lightning walks about.

 

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

