The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Today’s lesson on religion that I enjoyed – Spong

Leave a comment

This Furlong, is not a Christian. But my sister and I, of all the Furlongs in the Furlong family, were brought up as Christians. I went to a Catholic School. We know more about “being christian” than the Furlong children who were brought up in a secular family – aka – heathens!

Except for the Furlong son, who is an Atheist, all our children have discovered their own spiritual aspects. They have become “aware”.

But I am very interested in Religion(s) – and Christianity is one that I understand best. I have read the Bible from cover to cover, and dipped into it often. It is the basis of our Western culture and has shaped our history.

But, as a spiritual creature, I can’t “belong” to any religion.

By accident today I found Bishop John Shelby Spong. He’s a rebel. I like rebels.

His criticisms of Christianity are really valid – to me. It’s fifteen minutes long and worth watching, whatever religion you are or are not for the ideas that have come out of the Christian religion have truly shaped our history.

 

Author: Elizabeth

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...