The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Sceptical me

2 Comments

Perhaps it’s just my age. But I’m aware that my sceptical me is flowering.

We are a species of mostly mugs. We truly are. 

I’d rather be miserly, than a mug.

The excitement of Christmas? Bah Humbug!

Is that the time many mugs spend all their money celebrating a mostly mug- meaningless day?

Is that the time many mugs think children should get eye-wateringly costly gifts to make them “happy”?

Is that the time many mugs get into so much debt, they are still paying it off in April?

Is that the time many mugs eat and drink with wild abandon?

Is that the time when shops and the hospitality industries spend Boxing Day totting up their profits lured from very many mugs?

Is that the time many mugs expend more money than sense?

I used to be a mug.

But no more.

Skeptical me just sees artificially induced consumer excess.

I wish Christmas was practised more truly – in essence, just about simple traditions and  love.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

2 thoughts on “Sceptical me

  1. Ah, yes! Christmas spirit – being in the world but not of it 😉

    Wishing you and yours whatever you wish for yourselves!

    Liked by 1 person

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

