The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Hunt the parcel

2 Comments

For the Furlong special event tomorrow, this Furlong ordered some new shoes.

They were delivered on Saturday evening at 9:00pm to a “safe location”.

Well, it’s SO safe, no one has found it.

I remembered some lovely posts by Head Rambles on trying to find parcels delivered to him, put in “safe locations”, his woodshed, his green house, his kitchen window sill etc. But the post I think applies to us is

A safe delivery location

I checked the web site again this morning.  No new messages.  They apparently consider that they have fulfilled their side of the bargain and it’s now up to me to find their “safe delivery location”.

So where is a “safe delivery location”?  The local churches?  The cop shop?  Scrap the last – it’s never open.  Under a rock somewhere?  The local shop?  Next-door neighbour?  Down one of the old Avoca mine-shafts?  Up the bogs in a bog hole?

I honestly don’t know where to start.  I tried contacting the courier company but I can’t get through to them.  They do give a look-up thingy for the various individual drivers so I looked up the nearest bloke for this area.  His phone went straight to an answering service.  I hope he enjoys the message I left.

UPDATE!

Just got a call back from the courier.  He enjoyed the message.  He told me where my “safe delivery location” is.

Apparently it’s my black rubbish bin in the front garden.

*speechless*

Our rubbish was collected on Tuesday at crack of dawn.

The “investigators” are investigating our case. But this Furlong will have to use her old shoes for the “event”.

Who cares what an elderly lady wears on her feet? No one really.

So that’s OK then.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

2 thoughts on “Hunt the parcel

  1. Do you want me to check under my wheelbarrow to see if there’s a pair of shoes there?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wouldn’t be surprised! Our upstairs neighbour just came here to collect a parcel we took in for him. At his business, the same crowd delivered a parcel after hours on a Saturday and placed it in the communal wheelie bin which was collected on Monday morning before anyone got to work. I forgot to ask who pays.

      Like

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

