The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Type 2 – not for you

1 Comment

Without doubt, my kind of diabetes can be controlled with diet.

I am NOT taking the bloody pills!

This morning – after 4 days of sugar dumping (see yesterday’s post) my sugar is virtually normal!

What did I do? I ate scrambled eggs with butter and cream and bacon, a mushroom and half a tomato (tomatoes have sugar) for breakfast every day, protein and fat for lunch and dinner in the form of poached eggs on spinach, avocado and my specially prepared sunflower seeds, roasted chicken with skin on and cabbage, butter-drenched fried fish and salad (just green leaves, no onions and tomatoes because they contain sugar). And I always have REAL double thick cream in my coffee. NO sugar. NO carbohydrates. And I fasted from 6:00pm till 9:00am the next morning.

The first couple of days I felt sugar withdrawal – tired, depressed, glum.

But the “alert” feeling I know from having done HFLCKF eating for many years, and successfully controlled my blood sugar without the pills, has returned. I’m beginning to feel good!

My friend, who has diabetes, well peripheral diabetes, was put on pills. They had horrible side effects. But now, six months later, her blood sugar is back up, and she’s on a new pill – or both? I’m not sure.

Mr Furlong is diabetic and injects with Insulin. But even so, he constantly watches what he eats.

So pills and injections don’t free a diabetic from taking care with what they eat. Injections don’t allow Mr Furlong to binge on chocolate cake, or pig out on crisps.

So if you are a type 2 diabetic like me, you HAVE to accept that food is the key. Everyone finds their own way to cope with it, and mine is HFLCKF eating because I know it works.

I’m NOT taking the pills.

And you needn’t either.

Links on my blog – HFLC

Blood sugar correction – fasting

Eating for diabetes

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

One thought on “Type 2 – not for you

  1. Good to know, thanks for posting info about Diabetes! Hopefully we can avoid it! Some folks think taking a pill will give them carte blanche to eat all kinds of poop that probably contributed to their trouble in the first place. We have a neighbour who is always pontificating about how wonderful his statins are and how they allow him to eat just what he wants. We have tried pointing him in the right direction but have now given up. We have come to the conclusion he must have shares in Big Pharma!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

