The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Battling the fasting sugar for diabetics type 2

1 Comment

Oh, I have been so SO naughty, since my birthday in September. I skid around being diabetic and not diabetic. But because of my wanton eating I have convinced myself I really am definitely diabetic! If I relax and just eat what normal people eat, my blood sugar rockets.

So, since the 1st of December I’m getting myself under control.

Well, that’s what I thought.

I’ve lost weight. I’m pleased – not that I’m overweight. I just skid around that too.

But, despite, cutting the carbs and upping the fat, and fasting, my sugar is still high. I’ve been very disappointed. But I am displaying the Somogyi Effect. My body is dumping sugar.

I found this very comforting – so I’ll carry on with my mission, and not get disheartened.

As soon (as) insulin falls, sugar comes rushing out of the liver and into the blood.

For all diabetics like me this is essential reading….just follow the link above.

Quote – The same thing is seen during fasting. Remember, there are hormonal changes during fasting that include increases in growth hormone, adrenalin, glucagon and cortisol. These are exactly the same counter-regulatory hormones as seen in the DP. These are normal changes. As you fast, your insulin drops. Your body then tries to increase the glucose in the blood by encouraging the liver to release some of its stored sugar and fat. This is natural. However when you have T2D, there is too much sugar released from the liver which shows up in the blood like an uninvited guest.

Is this a bad thing? No, not at all. We are merely moving the sugar from the liver out into the blood. Lots of doctors consider it bad, because they are only concerned about the sugar that they see (in the blood). They do not concern themselves with the sugar that is hidden away.

After all, think about it this way. If you are not eating, where is the sugar coming? It must come from inside your own body. There is no other alternative. You are simply moving the sugar from storage, out into the blood where you can see it. It is neither good nor bad.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

One thought on “Battling the fasting sugar for diabetics type 2

  1. Pingback: Type 2 – not for you | The Last Furlong

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

