The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

How to sleep on a sore ear

1 Comment

This Furlong, recently had a very sore, inflamed ear. I was so debilitated with it I longed to just lie down in my bed and sleep. But my favourite sleeping side, is on the left – the same side as my swollen, red, ear.

On the internet you can buy special pillows for sore ears. But, at a time of crises, there is not even an online company who can get you one THAT quickly!

So

Make your own.

Method one is to use a long continental pillow, folded.

Method two is to use two pillows laid in a slim vee shape.

It works! Your ear sits happy in the crack, with no pressure on it and sleeping becomes possible.

Here are two bad photos taken with my new phone. The model is Olivia. She kindly offered to show the correct sleeping position. She’d like me to say that there is nothing wrong with her ear, and she wasn’t hurt during the photographic shoot.

method-one

 

method-two

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

One thought on “How to sleep on a sore ear

  1. I’m happy for Olivia, but sad about your ear. I have always had success with a few drops of hydrogen peroxide bubbling away for a minute or so twice or thrice a day on the rare times I’ve had ear problems!

    Liked by 1 person

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

