The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Poppy season

6 Comments

Oh what a whooha about our footballer’s wearing Poppies. My goodness me .

I remember a few years ago an ugly incident at the BBC. Some poor guy who didn’t want to wear a blinking poppy, was forced to. 

Recently, there has been a discussion on the BBC about NOT wearing poppies. It was before the footballer’s protest at having the wearing of poppies banned by Fifa.

At least this time the anti-poppy chap appeared minus the obligatory poppy.

I hate poppies. Everyone wearing them smells like social engineering to me rather than solidarity.

For some years, I used to wear a white poppy. But, now, the kind of poppy I like best, is the kind that grows in nature. 

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

6 thoughts on “Poppy season

  1. I must have been sovcially engineered then as I will be wearing mine.
    The poppy is not a symbol of solidarity but of personal remembrance. That you as an individual take a moment to remember, not the causes specifically, but the people who died in wars fought in our name (however ill conceived). Those individuals and their families deserve to be remembered by us as individuals.

    Like

  2. You surprise me. Most wars are unnecessary; politicians use them to justify and expand their powers, win favour with their counterparts or just signal their strength. But the poppies are not for the political commanders. They honour the honest soldiers, sailors and airmen who fell. They are the sign and symbol that we remember and respect their courage and their sacrifices whether the political cause was just or not. I hate “virtue signalling.” I wear my poppy not with pride (because I never enlisted) but as a signal to those who have lost family in battle that their sons are not forgotten by the people for whom they fought.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. There was an article in the Guardian with which I concur “Wearing a poppy is only meaningful if it’s voluntary”.

    Liked by 1 person

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

