The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

No Childline during Suez, I remember

Leave a comment

It seems children have been phoning Childline about their fears concerning Brexit and the election in America. Link

Reading that this morning, I remembered Suez in 1956. I was twelve. I can remember the newsreels before a film at the cinema – we called them “bioscopes”. I remember reading the papers. As well as the headlines, I read Dagwood and Blondie, Fred Bassett, Wilbur Says and Superman. But at twelve, I already followed “politics”.

The Suez Crises, was terrifying to me. It wasn’t the cold reporting we see in History books now. It was violent, it was sinister, it was passionate now! Everyday in the papers things changed. And, always, the implication of “War” – Atomic war.

At night, in bed. alone, in the dark, I often worked myself up into a state of terror at what the future held. And the realisation that grownups didn’t KNOW.

Childline would have been nice for a child of twelve in the Fifties who realised that grownups were as frightened as me. I could have helped them – maybe.

Actual Newsreels – collection

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

