The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Its my birthday today – gratitude enfolds me

4 Comments

I am Seventy Two today!

I have been SO blessed in my life.

Let me count the ways….

I was born into a vibrant, exciting time and grew up in freedom and peace.

I was lucky enough to have a bad marriage first and a good marriage last, instead of the other way around, which sucks in a life. Ending up miserable is not a good thing. You need the resilience of youth to be unhappy.

I have had several serious illnesses, but I made it through them without dying. And the Post Partum Stroke I had at the age of thirty-six left me only partially disabled but not enough to ruin my life.

Other people helped me when I most needed help. I am grateful to them all.

My five children have turned out well. I like them all. Liking your children is different to loving them.

I was encouraged to get a good education by my mother. So I’m grateful for that.

My personality is one that forgets insults and hurts very swiftly, and focusses without effort, on the good things of life. The sun seldom sets on my wrath. I am grateful for that.

The Furlong Family developed a knack of having very interesting adventures, and we were seldom clogged down with dull repetitive lifestyles. I am grateful for all the wonderful memories.

I love being retired. It’s the best time of my life.

It’s a real privilege to end my days here in the United Kingdom and not (say) Aleppo!

So, I’ve had a good life and I’m grateful for that.

But

The best gift in my life, has been Mr Furlong himself who has looked after me with great devotion through my worst and my best times. I am grateful for him.

I must have done something good…..

Thank you to all the people in my life who have made it, and make it, so happy.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

4 thoughts on “Its my birthday today – gratitude enfolds me

  1. Happy Birthday. I am so glad you like your children. I like mine, for which I am eternally grateful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy BD and many more Furlong years to come!

    🙂
    MJM

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy belated birthday! Hope you had a great day and have a great year ahead! Many happy returns.

    I very much enjoyed reading your recap of your life thus far. Most interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

