The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Dog people – this is for you – teeth

4 Comments

The Furlong dog, Bobby developed bad plaque on his front nashers (and probably the back too, but how can you see?) But I could see his gums were looking inflamed around his canine teeth so something was needing to be done.

So we were planning to take him to the vet for a clean-up under general anaesthetic. That is a most horrid experience for a dog, don’t you think? And has dangers.

Most vets charge an arm and a leg, because us “middle classes” are so fixated about dental hygiene, we are good for the picking.

But

I read on the internet to brush your dog’s teeth with COCONUT OIL. It would loosen the plaque.

And

my god it did!

I found he loves the toothbrush – or rather the coconut oil. I started on the 24th August brushing at night so he slept all night with coconut oil residue on his teeth and yesterday – 2nd September – all the plaque just crumbled off! That’s nine days I think.

Well, I say brushing – but its sort of hit and miss – more licking the toothbrush, I’d say.

I believe this works on people too! I just went to the dentist myself today. I told him about the dog. I said I wouldn’t do the “clean” he offered – I’d do the coconut. In fact he knew all about it and told me how to do it for “people”.

I’m sharing so that millions of dogs are rescued from general anaesthetics and horrid experiences.

And here are some pics…

piece of plaque

The brown thing on the left is the first piece of plaque that fell off his teeth. I was so excited I took a photo. The toothbrush is loaded with coconut oil.

Then all the plaque just crumbled off everywhere – I was so excited I took another photo!

gnashers

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

4 thoughts on “Dog people – this is for you – teeth

  1. Hello!

    Would you mind posting on the procedure your dentist explained? Can people brush at night as you did for your dog?

    I have read the oil pulling explanations online, but having a light film of oil on the teeth overnight sounds much easier.

    Thank you in advance!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I do coconut after my night brush now. And go to sleep with a mouthful. I fancy it also helps my dry throat and cuts my snoring. I shall ask Mr Furlong! The dentist said all his Hygenist friends were “doing it” – pulling, I mean. But you can also brush with it too. But you need normal tooth brushing regime as well. Thanks for your comment.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you very much! I will give it a go.

        There is a certain irony in dental hygienists pulling themselves but not letting on to patients.

        It would be better if they actually cleaned then pulled their patients’ teeth. Done the conventional way, from what I have read, pulling should take 20 minutes. The hygienist could explain how to do it so the patient could keep his own teeth clean this way.

        But, of course, that would never happen. Imagine the giant sucking sound of the dental hygienist sector going down the drain …

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: It will forever be known as “that Bloat night” | The Last Furlong

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

