The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Sore throat and ENGLISH Ivy pruning

6 Comments

I have put a rather boring title to this post – and I’ve done it on purpose – so that OTHER people might find it easily on their web browsers.

But I have discovered a less well-known fact. Pruning or cutting Ivy – English Ivy – causes SORE THROATS – and other symptoms. Read on!

Yesterday, after a morning of cutting back swathes of English Ivy, Mr Furlong and I, simultaneously, developed the most dreadful burning throats and horrid post nasal drips and a dry coughy coughs. I can’t speak for him – but he suffered.

I can only tell you how I felt. Last night was a terrible night! I couldn’t eat – no appetite. Burning dry throat, scratchy-tonsils, closing throat feeling, aching burny body as if feverish, slightly nauseas and trying to make it go away with throat lozenges and little sips of milk. We did not sleep well.

Entwined in my personal suffering was the thought that BOTH of us could not develop the exact same “flu” symptoms, at precisely the same moment on a day, and that maybe we were developing some dreadful infection which we might have spread on to our little granddaughter and her Mommy. We’d spent the afternoon together.

Something didn’t add up.

The only thing we had in common, Mr Furlong and I, was cutting back Ivy – fortunately not for a very long period of the morning, but plenty of it.

I looked up “Ivy makes me sick” and I got loads of stuff on Poison Ivy. English Ivy is not Poison Ivy.

But down at the bottom of the page was a little homoeopathic link that indicated Ivy was used for “sore throats”. Immediately I knew I was on to something for in Homeopathy, they use like for like. In other words, if a plant gives you a sore throat, they will use the same plant to relieve sore throat.

The minute I typed in “English Ivy sore throat” into Google, I began to get results.

So, to summarise, pruning tons of English Ivy can make you sick! Yes.

I was wearing latex gloves but when we have recovered, Mr Furlong and I will continue the job wearing masks, gloves and long sleeves – and we’ll do it in SHORT BURSTS.

Just telling you – we have been feeling really, really SICK.

And yes – it IS the English Ivy.

Warning from a gardening forum

“one word of warning, when working with ivy, it gives off fumes,which can cause respiratory problems, sore throats, etc ,so don’t stick at the ivy pruning for any length of time and DO NOT shred, (gives if even more fumes!) or put on compost heap.”

Symptoms from Right Diagnosis

  • Contact dermatitis
  • Ataxia
  • Burning throat sensation
  • Coma
  • Skin blistering
  • Diarrhea
  • Breathing difficulty
  • Rash
  • Nausea
  • Dilated pupils
  • Vomiting
  • Abdominal discomfort
  • Hyperactivity
  • Drooling
  • Fever
  • Increased thirst
  • Weakness
  • Staggering

Thank god we didn’t prune English Ivy all day! We might be in comas now.

 

 

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

6 thoughts on “Sore throat and ENGLISH Ivy pruning

  1. Gosh – this is quite scary! I never knew that. I’ll try to remember this for future. I hope you are both feeling better today.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good heavens. I have a slight Ivy problem which I have to cut back twice a year. But it only ever makes me sneeze a lot.

    However, the Ivy on my end wall has mysteriously died, after years and years. I have no idea why. I haven’t done anything to it, and the roses in front of it are fine.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Am I right or am I wrong – burning throat ivy? | The Last Furlong

  4. Pingback: Ivy science – burning throat after pruning English Ivy | The Last Furlong

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

