The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

No one seems to answer my hearing aid question

3 Comments

I know my hearing aids turn themselves off all by themselves when coping with certain frequencies. Sometimes a video on my computer, or music. will trigger a reboot.

In the fog, on a misty day, or thick drizzle, or in a steamy bathroom, they simply shut down.

But several times, my hearing aids have done strange things seemingly un-triggered.

Today I was gardening.  I had my head in thick ivy, chopping it down.

Suddenly both aids turned off. The right one rebooted by itself and the left one did the same, over and over and over again, until I stopped it.

No one has been able, as yet, to tell me what secret frequency Ivy emits when it is being ferociously attacked by a determined human.

Any suggestions?

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

3 thoughts on “No one seems to answer my hearing aid question

  1. “Any suggestions?”

    Sorry…? I couldn’t hear the question???

    ;>

    Actually… yes. 🙂 I know nothing about hearing aids, but I’ll bet that if you asked that question over on Quora.com you might get an informed answer!

    Stop over there and take a look around (You *might* have to sign up to look around: I forget; but if you do, just fill out the fields quickly because except for your name (WHICH IS SUPPOSED TO BE YOUR REAL NAME… they’re very big on that, particularly if someone makes a post that someone else complains to the moderators about) you can go back and update other things that make the overall site better for you.0

    Email me at Cantiloper on Gmail if you have any questions about how to frame a question within their limits and how to set categories etc. Quora is an unusual site with a heavy leaning toward answers coming from experts and a heavy hand toward moderation against flames, name-calling, off-topic or joking chit-chat etc. They are trying to position themselves as a “Wikipedia Of Questions And Answers” — and they’ve done quite well in the six years they’ve been running.

    🙂
    MJM

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mmm – they might be too “academic” for me – I’ll check it out further, tomorrow. Thanks for the idea…..

      Like

      • The thing is, even if you don’t participate on the Answering side, you DO get some very informative answers to the sort of questions that just “pop up”in your life from time to time. Stuff like “Why is the sky blue?” or “What should I do if a cop pulls me over for no reason in England and wants to look in my trunk?” or (one of mine) “Do a fluorescent and incandescent light of the same wattage ultimately contribute the same amount of heat to a room?” (answer to that last one: Yes.)

        Liked by 1 person

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

