The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Everyone is a victim nowadays

Leave a comment

Oh poor us! We are victims.

Yet the Furlongs feel victims of not-very-much.

We were poor – did it change us? Hell yes – for the better. We appreciate so much.

We were victims of religious assault because our born-again neighbour in Africa despised our beliefs. Did it change us? Hell yes – it was horrible! We now know what it’s like to be discriminated against – we have empathy for others enduring it.

I had a postpartum stroke at the age of thirty-six. Did it change us? Hell yes – I thank god everyday that I am as mobile, well and healthy as I am and that my husband didn’t dump me. I’ll have to ask him if he thinks sticking to me was worth it – but we’ve just had our Ruby wedding anniversary. I am a disabled person who is not the victim of anything. If I can’t do something, I cant do it. And that’s that. I don’t blame others for my inadequacies.

We were victims of violence in one of the most dangerous countries in the world. We lost friends and witnessed terrible atrocities. Did it change us? Hell yes – we came “home” to England. And we thank god every day that we could whilst others can’t.

Neither Mr Furlong, nor I have been victims of any sexual abuse, but our families abused us in other ways. At two years old I was left in an orphanage for a whole year while my parents worked in the USA and Mr Furlong was sent to boarding school miles away at the age of seven, as families used to do in those days. Do we feel victims? Hell yes. But it doesn’t make a difference NOW – it was SO long ago!

People HAVE to get on with their lives despite their victimhood. Everyone is a victim of something. Do todays victims of experiences so long ago  FEEL victims? Hell yes.

Victimhood is a debillitating state of mind that stops you getting on with living.

And THAT is the problem!

The post that triggered my today’s blog was Is British society in the throes of a mass sexual hysteria?

 

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

