The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Eating for pain

Leave a comment

For the last three months, from the “offer” on our house to our delayed move, us Furlong oldies have been eating junk.

Last Saturday, it all came to a head for me. We went on an outing with grandchildren that involved standing around. For several weeks I have found just standing around, excruciating. I have had to sit or walk. Standing around, meant pain in my hips and lower back which disappeared as soon as I strode out, or sat.

In me, pain is inflammation. Inflammation is caused by diet.

Also, my blood-sugar gets uncontrolled and I don’t like the idea that it’s nibbling away at my internals and causing more trouble for my future.

So I’m back on my pain-diet.

What is that?

Well, over the years, I have discovered MY way. MY way zaps the pain and the blood-sugar.

1   Dont eat as soon as rising. Breakfast about 10am. (Well, I’m retired so I can do that.) Breakfast  – small – two eggs and a piece of fruit. Or egg and bacon. Coffee with double cream.

2   Dinner at lunchtime. Or the biggest meal of the day here. Lots of protein, no carbs – i.e. potato, rice, pasta etc. Maybe some vegetables like cabbage or brocoli. Or Avocado. And fat – butter, butter, butter and double cream. Sometimes black chocolate.

3   Walk a mile

4    Supper before but not after six o’clock at night, that consists of Bone broth or rich double cream of celery soup, or Chicken bone broth.

No snacks.

Period.

Works like a charm.

NO HUNGER.

No pain. Mind clear. Energy returns. And blood-sugar normalises. Optimism returns.

This is MY high-fat-low-carb-fasting food regime that makes me feel like a new person!

 

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

