The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

How to make your writing flow again

2 Comments

If you are a writer, you need discipline.  Unless you are hit in the face with an idea that you simply MUST write about,  writers need alert minds to “ideas”.  But sometimes alert minds gets blocked by life events. No worries – just intend that you will pick up your alert mind again, when the time for it is right.  It helps to write anything – anything – to get the writing-mind active again. 

Since my last post, The Furlongs have moved house.

We moved from the country to the town. We moved from a large four bedroomed house with a large garden, to a two bedroomed flat with a small garden.

We have been very disciplined about doing all the exhausting things that moving house entails because we HAD to. There have been no alerts in my mind about writing anything in a post.

Who would be interested to know that the Furlong dog has been hiding in dark places, that we nearly tore our hair out with frustration at last minute delays because some city slick solicitors had to investigate imaginary problems for the folk who have bought our house from us, or that solicitors go away for their summer hols at the worst time for the clients, or that you simply cannot fit four bedrooms into two without huge effort, emotional pain and physical endurance?

All this has blotted out my brain and reduced my blogging desire to zero.

So today, I thought I’d just write – write anything that came to mind and try to unblock my block.

As I wrote, it occurred to me that this new abode – a flat in town – might be an interesting place for generating “ideas” that bloggers need to write posts about.

I can think of a few already.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

2 thoughts on “How to make your writing flow again

  1. You’re right. We all get blocked by Life. Or perhaps, more to the point, about Life best not written about.
    PS. Don’t get rid of any furniture even remotely resembling an antique. See my Blog for details.

    Liked by 1 person

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

