The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

2013 – dogs on leads rant

Leave a comment

I was already on the same topic three years ago, of dogs not on leads. And here is my favourite photo of the Furlong dog.

Today, I took the dog for a walk because I was so uptight about a really weird and not-so-pleasant day. I went to the park, to relax.

But, we were terrorised by an idiot dog owner whose three adolescent Labradors raced round and round us loose of their leads. She might have thought they were cute – but I really was terrified. My own cute little dog has to be carefully protected because he might look like a Yorkshire Terrier, but he THINKS he’s an Alsatian. As a rescue dog, something must have happened to him in the long distant past. The trigger to his rage is any dog that sniffs his neck. They can sniff any part they like and he’s a friendly littleĀ  chap – but a neck-sniff does it. These three horrid Labradors leaping about and pawing looked like neck sniffers to me.

I yelled and screamed “b***** off” and “go away” in several languages I know. I heard the owner calling them to her.

I shouted “Put your dogs on their bloody leads!” And she did instantly.

That made me feel better.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

