The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

For god’s sake dog walkers, keep your dog on a lead

Leave a comment

I have said this before, and before that, and before that!

In a town, KEEP YOUR BLOODY DOG ON ITS LEAD!

In fact, the lambs are everywhere now – so keep your dogs on their leads on the fells too!

Yesterday, on my walk, I avoided two women I saw in the distance holding packs of dogs in each hand. Suddenly, an unattractive little black dog broke ranks and ran straight for us. The Furlong dog had a loose black dog bullet up to him, sniffy sniffy, panty panty. I held my breath. But it turned out an amicable meeting. I asked the ladies doing the dog walk, to please get the lead on the black bullet too.

They said “The other dogs behave better if one of them is off the lead”. Logical? Well, it left me stumped.

The ugly black bullet dog had now disappeared.

At that moment, there was a terrible screaming and a black and white cat shot out of its garden into which their unleaded dog had gone, with black bullet dog, close behind. The packs instantly started yelping and barking. the lady dog walkers shrieking and yelling. All pandemonium let loose.

I shouted “It’s irresponsible to leave your dog off the lead!” But having thrown the leads into the hands of her companion, the chief idiot was running down the road yelling “Come back”, “Come back” to black bullet, who by this time had shot under the clubhouse of the tennis courts. I’m sure he had no intention of “coming back” anywhere.

I came home feeling very pleased. I was pleased with the Furlong dog because he had remained calm throughout. And I was pleased to imagine that as I was settling down to coffee and a vape in my nice easy chair, THEY were still struggling with packs of baying dogs and trying to get black bullet dog out from under the clubhouse floor.

Serves them right!

I have absolutely NO sympathy.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

