The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

The Shattered Society

7 Comments

I have just published 4 posts on Ambient abuse. If anything us abuse – the smoking ban is. Read this wonderful blog by Frank Davis – and the comments too!

Frank Davis

I used to think that the 1960s was the most eventful period that I ever lived through. But now I think that the smoking ban outdoes the 1960s.

For a start, the 1960s didn’t start on one single day. It just sort of gathered momentum in the early 1960s, and had burnt itself out by about 1970. It was perhaps embodied in the story of the most iconic rock band of the time – the Beatles -, as they rose from obscurity in Liverpool to international stardom, before getting lost in Eastern mysticism and radical politics, and finally disintegrating and going their separate ways.

But the smoking ban started with a bang on a single day: 1 July 2007. It’s a different date in different countries. It was 2 January 2011 in Spain. Every smoker everywhere probably has a Date To Remember.

In Escape Velocity yesterday I followed Smokingscot’s economic…

View original post 794 more words

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

7 thoughts on “The Shattered Society

  1. I haven’t responded to any of these Blogs because I was having a think about it

    This is the story of my life. But I blame me, if there is any blame to be had at all.

    Beyond a pretty ghastly childhood, I did briefly become my own happy person, only to sink back into the abyss when I married. This was my fault. I could have said that I wasn’t having it, but I didn’t quite know how. Probably because I was entirely bemused.

    There are only two kinds of people in the world. Those who give and those who take. This is an accident of birth. And if I have to choose, then I know which kind I want to be. It was a fool who lost me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I regret it sometimes. I could have put my foot down. I was just too young to know how.

    Liked by 1 person

    • And we didn’t have the internet in those days and MY family said I should stay with
      MY abusive husband and just bear it! Wrong solution. One of the best things I did was to get away. Only in those days I had to endure otherwise I would lose my children. So eventually HE left and then my life started to come right. Very difficult as a single mother though. We were very poor. I had no qualifications and earned a pittance. I became an expert in making “meat ” balls with one egg and a teaspoon of Marmite mixed into breadcrumbs! When you are hungry they are quite deliciius

      Like

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

