The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Scarlet fever

Leave a comment

I know us Furlongs are in France, but there has been a case of Scarlet Fever at our grand daughter’s school. We might be away – but there IS Skype. 🙂

This is the time Scarlet Fever goes around evidently. Before we left the UK I saw it being mentioned on the BBC warning parents to be vigilant.

I remember Scarlet Fever well.

My sister caught Scarlet Fever when I was little. The thing I remember was the FEAR that exuded from the grown ups in our lives. They couldn’t hide it. I was banned from going near my sister and the doorway to her room was covered with a damp sheet that had been soaked in Carbolic. It was replaced several times a day.

I have no idea how my grandma and aunties nursed her because I was shoo’ed away as they busily entered and exited her room with jugs, glasses, bowls of gruel/soup, bottles of medication and chamber pots.

I was to have nothing to do with any of it.

My sister survived and her heart has seemed intact. And I never got it.

How wonderful that parents now, have none of that terror.

Antibiotics work a treat. Scarlet Fever. No need for the desperate panic it used to generate in grown ups.

There are some really good things in modern life. And that’s one of them.

Thank goodness.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

