The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Adjusting Vincent

4 Comments

Very amusing from Frank Davis. Enjoy

Frank Davis

Chris Snowdon on a lawsuit against various Hollywood studios for showing smoking scenes in movies:

During the period 2012 through the present, defendants’ film rating system – certified and rated thousands of films featuring tobacco imagery as suitable and appropriate for children under the age of seventeen without a parent or guardian, causing over 1.1 million children under the age of seventeen to become addicted to nicotine and will cause the eventual premature death of 360,000 of such nicotine addicts from tobacco caused diseases including lung cancer, heart disease, stroke and emphysema.

It’s well known that if children under the age of seventeen catch sight of tobacco imagery in any movie, they will become addicted to nicotine.

However, in movies such images are usually transient, lasting a few seconds or less. The same is not the case with still images, such as photographs and paintings. And if a party of…

View original post 388 more words

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

4 thoughts on “Adjusting Vincent

  1. “Old Age is not SO bad – yet!”

    I have memories of my grandmother, then probably in her 70s, taking me for the occasional walk by the park. Every once in while she’d stop to rub her back or she’d grunt a bit as she’d sit or get up from a park bench, and she’d look down at my little 10-year-old self and say, “Michael, take my advice, don’t ever get old!”

    Unfortunately she never really laid out a viable alternative.

    Fortunately, as I start heading into toward that stage of my life I won’t have to go running around a park with a ten year old for fun, but will be able to relax at home with tobacco imagery in movies on my TV, computer games on my puter, and lots of emails and blogs to keep me somewhat connected with reality…

    :>
    MJM

    Liked by 1 person

    • And never to be lonely! I am a recluse. But I’m never lonely. Computers can be wonderful for “old” people. They make us vast! But when I taught “old” people to use computers, many said “I HATE computers!” Their loss. Occasionally we got an old person who developed the glint of computer obsession in their eye. Wow. That was fantastic. I knew they’d be all right for the rest of their lives. My oldest student was 92. She just died last year, computer literate and happy. 🙂

      Like

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

