The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Our special dolls

6 Comments

Elena’s comment on my post a few days ago about her doll – a baby doll, that did nothing in particular, reminded me of the dolls my sister and I were given by our mother.

After the war, she spent a year in the USA with my father. They travelled there and back on a troop-carrier from Africa.

When she arrived home, she presented us with a Margaret O’Brien Doll each.

They were dolls that did nothing too.

They had stuck on hair which you couldn’t brush, and weren’t cuddly at all, being one of the very first hard plastic dolls. But they were pretty.

However, I don’t think they truly made up for the anguish  that we two little girls went through for a whole year,  the two of us, separated, me in an orphanage and my sister farmed out to strangers.

Margaret O’Brien Dolls always make me feel unhappy.

Margaret O’Brien is still alive (2016) – info here…..

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

6 thoughts on “Our special dolls

  1. I don’t know what to say about that as I don’t particularly want to insult your parents. But whatever possessed them?

    Like

    • Insult away! Extremely strange.

      Like

      • My sister and I were once placed in a very nice children’s home for three years, for reasons that I don’t really want to talk about because I am not frightfully into insulting my own parents, let alone yours. Although I might one day.
        Suffice to say that it was the happiest time of my childhood. Although The War didn’t much help with the bad bits.
        But I do sometimes wonder if the bad bits were the making of people like you and me, albeit on different fronts.
        However, it remains difficult to forget the occasional desolation.
        Probably best to put it down to parental inadequacies of which we all suffer to some degree.
        But it did make me so much more determined to treat my own children with love and care.

        I would be interested to hear why your parents did this, if you want to talk about it.

        PS. Are you still drinking water? I am presently having a large Gin myself, without too much water.

        Like

      • I’m still drinking water. My father was sent to America to train – scientist. Being somewhat of a “weak” person, and a philanderer, my mother was told by the family to go along and look after him. She got a lecture tour offered to her so they were both “employed”. The irony was that after they got back, he philandered and became a sort of useless alcoholic. So she ended up alone with two kids anyway. I think she deeply loved him and grieved through our whole childhood. We didn’t have a bouncy-fun-happy time AND were terribly poor.

        Enjoy your gin – I don’t drink alcohol having inherited my father’s alcoholism. Haven’t had a drink since 1980. But I don’t mind anyone else doing it! 🙂

        Like

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

