The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Whited stones

6 Comments

I remember when I first saw this in our Cemetery where we walk the Furlong dog. I thought someone had desecrated the graves by chucking white paint on them. I remember feeling very offended – until I investigated.

At this time of year, this lichen is most noticeable. It grows on old grave stones and stone walls that are in the light. I can’t say “sunshine” because we seldom get it here. But it’s not on stones under trees. It’s very strange and in-your-face-white.  And it’s everywhere.

Lichens are truly interesting creatures – they are not plants – but symbiotic organisms. They are used as a marker for air-pollution, of which there is very little here, where we live. They have anti-biotic properties and they are totally fascinating in every way.

Here are our gravestones snapped on our walk today.

White Lichen

White Lichen 2

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

6 thoughts on “Whited stones

  1. We get a lot of yellow stuff on the rooves here where the air is exceptionally clean.

    Like

    • In the article I linked to in my post, yellow lichen is often poisonous. But your air will be unpolluted for sure where it grows. People even used to eat lichen in times of famine. So I suppose that’s how they know about yellow. Some have been used to cure disease – they are antibiotic.

      And by the way, Mr Furlong is still suffering. I’ve got Sulphur 30 but not Phosphorous. I think Aconite could be useful. I’ve got that. Aconite 30 I’ve got. I used it on myself after my “Electric Shock” episode that terrified me.

      Like

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

