The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Lily stamens continued

Leave a comment

When spraying Lily stamens with hairspray to stop the pollen spreading one must not forget to “seal” the new buds opening. I have been so delighted by watching my wonderful blooms opening new buds every day, I have got careless. I had an accident with my favourite powder blue jacket.

Our Furlong daughter came to visit with our granddaughter who developed terrible eczema after she was born. So I moved my Lily arrangement into another room, in case it could trigger an allergic response.

I got bright yellow pollen all over the shoulder and arm of my jacket.

I came from the newly exposed stamens I hadn’t sealed.

The sealed stamens, wither more quickly than untreated ones. They lose their turgid, youthful look quicker than un-sprayed stamens. Which is sad, really.

But the wages of their pollen shedding is horrible on clothes! My powder blue jacket had swathes of bright yellow stains even after a wash.

In the Furlong house, we do not use detergent to wash our clothes (because of our granddaughter). We use very excellent non-detergent washing balls. In our latest purchase, I had ordered their stain remover.

I applied it to the stains – and – amazingly, after a re-wash – all the pollen stains had disappeared.

I am not selling laundry balls – in fact many of them are pretty useless – but the ones we use are special and  actually work.

Thank goodness.

How to Remove Lily Pollen Stains from Carpet

How to Remove Lily Pollen Stains from Carpet

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

