The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Oh no – not another bloody “series”

Leave a comment

Somehow, a “series” on TV feels like some kind of intellectual scam – a ring implanted into our mental noses, to drag us along, along, along. I am sick of “series”. Sometimes the best episode is the first. Everything goes down-hill from there.

The first episode is the clamping in of the nose-ring. We even co-operate in the exciting discomfort of an intriguing idea, a new concept, a scary plot. The next episode asserts pull on the rope intended to capture us.  Sane people, at that point, should dig in their hooves and not co-operate with being pulled along to slaughter.

Episode One, Series One. Oh God no!

I don’t mind episodes  – I like episodes – and even series that have completion of some story within each episode. Where you get to know the main characters who carry on. A story within a story.

What I don’t like is the stuff on Sky (especially) when we find we’re on Episode One, Series Three Million and Twenty Four, and the writers are having a problem holding anything together at all, and I’m out of my mind with boredom.

Mr Furlong will follow a series – to a point – and then he gives up too.

We are two old people with more brains than some!

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

