The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

This is a GOOD idea – lily stamens

Leave a comment

Two days ago, I told you about my experiment with Lilies. I can now report the results so far. I have been testing whether hairspray applied to the anthers in Lily flowers, would seal them from spraying pollen – which stains and triggers allergies – and make them “safe”.

To snip or not to snip?

Well – it DOES!

I did not spray the whole flower – simply the maturing stamens.  You can even touch them and no pollen sticks to the finger. There is no pollen sifting down onto the open petals. No pollen underneath the vase.

In fact, my experiment has been a total success. Lilies with “snipped” off stamens look bleak and abused – but this way – just spraying the stamens – I am left with the whole exotic thing.

I love it when a plan comes together!

 

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

