The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Wobblies Windows 10 Update

4 Comments

No post yesterday. I spent  a whole day trying to fix my computer after what I found to be a terrible offensive intrusion into my machine, during the quiet of the night whilst I was sleeping. Without MY permission.

A Windows 10 UPDATE.

So, when I got up from my deliciously refreshing sleep, I found my computer had been shut down. I don’t shut down my computer – it’s always just sleeping. When I started it, everything hit a wobbly. I thought I was on someone else’s machine! Everything about it had changed. The first message to come up was “Your computer has been updated, but your files are intact” – or something like that. But all my special settings had been overridden.

My computer has been set up especially for me. For my eyesight – so I don’t have to wear glasses to do anything on it.

All my BIG FONTS, were now minuscule. I needed a microscope to see the Icons. Furthermore, all the apps had been re-arranged. And apps I made invisible (or uninstalled)  were BACK! And flashy pictures, I hate, cycling around. Glitzy, glossy, horrible, consumer  directed Windows 10 with Bing, Internet Explorer, MSM messaging, and other horrible things

Hell.

Various “Personas” on my computer are completely separated, otherwise Google simply mushes them into one So worse, in one of the User sections – no Documents, no Control Panel  would open – no files!

So that’s my post for today.

But the good news is I’ve fixed everything – and now, before I forget, I’m going to find the place where I can stop Microsoft EVER doing that to me again.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

4 thoughts on “Wobblies Windows 10 Update

  1. start/all programs/windows update/change settings/ change to “download updates but let me choose whether to install them.” that should sort it.

    Liked by 1 person

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

