The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Manifesting manure

1 Comment

Mr Furlong, without knowing it, is a magnificent manifester.  Sometimes the speed with which he does it is breathtaking.

Today, it was NOT raining. I got cracking in the garden laying out my new no-dig garden. This involved trying to level it off slightly with a bit of soil from old pots, chucked in the hollows, and then layers and layers of cardboard, old magazines and papers and more cardboard on the top. All of these layers were watered thoroughly. The bottom layer has been completed.

Now the next part is to layer, old straw, compost, old manure, compost, wood shavings, straw, manure etc. on the top. One last layer of cardboard, fixed down, will secure it till spring, by which time it will have “cooked” into my new vegetable garden area.

Except, I have no straw, no manure, neither old nor new.

I phoned the coal yard. They have everything, usually. But, no, they said I must contact a farmer.

Mr Furlong remembered he knew a horse farmer. Fancy that! He has hidden gifts…and within five minutes, had organized old manure, old horse bedding and 3 old straw bales (for my straw bale project) that the farmer just wants to get rid of.

Lucky me.

Image result for no dig gardening

 

 

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

One thought on “Manifesting manure

  1. Good on ya. But I doubt that it matters all that much. Just ignore my negative thoughts.

    I have spent ten years nurturing and feeding the large pots in which I grow vegetables. And it only got worse.. That’s it. I have had enough. I really don’t care any more. Bugger Off. The last thing I need is Runner Beans. Runner Beans are booorrring

    Like

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

