The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Food poisoning – WASH celery

2 Comments

I read somewhere that celery is one of the salad ingredients that “hides” nasty bacteria and we should properly wash it – properly – not just hold it under the tap before eating. 

Well raw celery is a common addition to the Furlong luncheon. We sort of point it in the direction of the tap. But after the last two days, I am going to wash it properly.

It’s the only thing I ate that could have induced such awful stomach upset in me.

The main symptoms include:

  • feeling sick (nausea)
  • vomiting
  • diarrhoea, which may contain blood or mucus
  • stomach cramps and abdominal (tummy) pain
  • a lack of energy and weakness
  • loss of appetite
  • a high temperature (fever)
  • aching muscles
  • chills

In most cases, these symptoms will pass in a few days and you will make a full recovery.

Well, I hope so!

Image result for celery and food poisoning

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

2 thoughts on “Food poisoning – WASH celery

  1. I have never washed Celery in all my life. I don’t even show it the tap. And the only times I have been seriously ill was from the odd Oyster or Prawn. But then I have been eating germs for all of my life. The Only five second rule in my house when food hits the floor is whether the dog or I will get to it first.

    Sorry you weren’t well, but will you douse it with boiling water in future?

    It might be better to consider Organo Phosphates, but since everything is saturated with that, we all might be on a hiding to nothing.

    I’ve got this theory that The Government are trying to bump us all off, especially when we get to Pension Age. Keep us all poor and then we can’t afford organically grown anything, or will starve or freeze to death anyway.

    Sadly for them, they didn’t pay attention to my generation. I knew what cold and hungry was when I was five years old. I remember that quite clearly. And I know what to do about it, courtesy of my poor grandmother who battled throughout The War.

    Sorry. I got a bit emotional there, for a minute. But the fact is that there were no obese children in those days, more for the better, and ultimately the healthier for it.

    Like

    • The problem with celery is that when commercially washed, it cannot be cleaned right down each stalk. When I was little, we lived with my grandma (after the war) and she soaked all our veggies in purple stuff – um – permanganate of potash/Condys crystals. I don’t know what it does. If it works, you probably can’t buy it any more. Have you noticed, that anything that WORKS is taken off the market and replaced by commercial stuff that doesn’t!

      It must be really annoying that the smoking generation, germ guzzling generation are living SO long.

      I must say I have been really ill. Today I have had a little food. The last time I had “food poisoning” was in 1975. I can remember it clearly.

      Like

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

