The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

The peaceful majority are irrelevant

1 Comment

There is something very strange about democracy – it’s not working.

I am more passionate about politics and history than Mr Furlong. I feel people can make a difference – or that is one of my delusions, maybe. I can’t just shrug.

But maybe the shruggers have it right? 

This short video came to my attention this morning. In all the statistics rolled out about killing, the American statistics on killing are not mentioned – but the idea that “the peaceful majority are irrelevant” which is driven home here, made me think that no matter what political system we live under, there is always “the peaceful majority”. Our modern day democracies step on them just as well as any other system.

Brigitte Gabriel is the panelist here.  Check it out.

  • I think her holocaust figures could be questioned.

 

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

One thought on “The peaceful majority are irrelevant

  1. The essential question here is how on earth can we resolve a question if we are forbidden to ask it.
    The ongoing illusion is if you can’t talk about it it has gone away. De facto racists are and have always been as scarce as rocking horse droppings. What successive governments have achieved is the exponential growth of closet racists. They have built up a force that in the fullness of time they will not be able to contain.
    I tend to take as I find, I don’t care what your perspective is I will listen to it and to the greater extent I will accept it, what I won’t accept is, in the main, I won’t alter my perspective to accommodate yours. I am in the majority, you adapt to mine or go to a place that is more conducive to your perspective.

    You cannot legislate harmony, it has to evolve all by itself. If it is so far out of your comfort zone go somewhere else.

    Come in, sit on my sofa, put your feet up, relax, this is how we are, this is what we do and how we do it, this is the regime that has created your safety, given you independence and financial security beyond your wildest dreams.

    But please be mindful………………if you shit on the couch I’ll ask you to leave.

    There’s humanity and sympathy, we have it by the bucket load, that’s what we are, and then there is taking the piss.

    Like

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

