The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Toxic science

29 Comments

The new NPIS poisons report has just come out. If you are a vaper, like me, the science sounds REALLY weird. 

The section on e-cigarettes starts about page 45.  Link Here Here’s the strange thing about the report. (My bold and comments)

This is what it says about Nicotine  –  “The contents of e-cigarettes and their liquid refills vary, but many contain substantial concentrations of nicotine, a highly toxic compound.”

It continues later

The NPIS received 241 telephone enquiries concerning e-cigarettes and their refill solutions this year (Figure 6.12). This is more than the 204 received during the previous year, which in turn was greater than the total number of enquiries about these products received over the previous six years.

(naturally – vaping has only recently being taken up by millions of smokers)

Forty per cent of the enquiries originated in hospitals (Figure 6.13).

(But MOSTLY from NHS direct calls from HOME and Primary care actually – hospital sounds much better!)

Children aged under five years were involved in one-quarter of the enquiries (Figure 6.14).

(that’s about 50 kids as compared with  more than 2,500 exposures (96% ) of them being children under five ingesting DETERGENT)

The majority of exposures (206 of 241) were accidental. Fourteen enquiries concerned intentional overdoses 

(yes people have tried unsuccessfully to commit suicide by drinking e-liquid. Nicotine is disappointingly not very toxic taken this way. The reason is, the body expels it by vomiting it out.)

and the remainder of enquiries included adverse reactions to intended use, recreational abuse and ‘therapeutic errors’. Where the individual route of exposure was specified, ingestion was the most common, although multiple routes of exposure also occurred. In several cases ingestion of liquid occurred after attempting to inhale vapour from the e-cigarette. Nine of the fifteen enquiries involving the eye occurred when the liquid was mistaken for eye drops (Figure 6.15). Where the clinical features were known at the time of the enquiry, 133 patients had no features of toxicity and 97 had features of only minor toxicity. Seven patients had moderate toxicity, and one exposure was associated with severe features.

(NO DEATHS?)

Features of toxicity included conjunctivitis, irritation of the oral cavity, anxiety, nausea, vomiting, dizziness and changes in heart rate. It is of concern that so many of the exposures were accidental and occurred in young children. Similarly, over half the eye exposures occurred when e-cigarette products were mistaken for eye drops. The liquid in e-cigarettes and their refills contains toxic doses of nicotine and even small volumes can cause serious harm to a small child.Urgent consideration needs to be given to the safe storage and packaging of these products. To address some of these concerns, packaging and labelling regulations are currently being developed under the European Tobacco Products Directive for implementation in 2016.

God help us! We already are enduring tiny 10 ml bottles of e liquid that are the devil to open, for the sake of all the endangered children, in anticipation of next year.

E liquid SHOULD be properly packed. I have never seen a bottle of it that is not child proof and I’ve been vaping for four years. ( well, maybe there were a few four years ago). The vaping industry is policing itself and it should be allowed to do it without interference from doom mongers anywhere. And the science on the toxicity of already diluted e liquid needs to brought into reality.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

29 thoughts on “Toxic science

  1. As I was going to say, “Have you tried opening one of these bottles?” Somedebody is fibbing. But why?

    Like

  2. I’m stocking up. 10ml pfft!

    Much to my wife’s disgust my corner now looks like a laboratory. As you know I am new to this, still on one cig a day mind, I have taken to mixing my own.

    One of the reasons I have gone down this route is I appear to be quite sensitive to PG. Most commercial mixes seem to be 70/30 – PG/VG , I’m finding 100% VG much smoother.

    The only downside to mixing is patience, you can’t just mix and try. It has to steep, getting into the terminology, for three days or so before the flavour develops.

    I’ve got so many trials on the go I’ve had to use a spreadsheet program to keep track!

    I digress, The point of this post was stock at hand going into 2016 “packaging and labelling regulations are currently being developed under the European Tobacco Products Directive for implementation in 2016.”

    One of the issues I’m sure they’ll be looking at is blend strength 12/18/24/30 etc. They, indeed, may deem anything over ten to require licencing or strength based incremental taxation.

    I am buying at the moment 250ml of 7.2% (72) nicotine in VG for £29-99. Pure VG ,250ml at $3-99.
    Flavouring at £2-49 10ml.

    The basic formula is for a 12 strength vape is on part base liquid @72 five parts everything else.

    The cost of 1litre of juice:

    Mixture
    Base
    166.67ml £19-99
    PG
    0ml
    VG
    733.33ml £11-70
    Flav
    100.00ml (this can be purchased in bulk to make further savings) £24-90

    Total £56-59

    The net result is a 10ml bottle costs a little under 57p !

    N.B. VG is very thick I replace 10 or 12% of the VG with distilled water, no need if high levels of PG are used, PG is the same price as VG.

    The point of this exercise is not to save money as such, though it is nice, but to ensure continuance of supply.

    My next experiment is to try freezing the base mixture, if that is a success I’m going to buy a lot of it. They can’t regulate PG, VG or flavourings but they could possibly limit the base liquid strength and quantity you can buy. Where to buy 100% nicotine, there’s a question.

    Like

    • On further investigation you can’t buy pure nicotine, 7.5% (75) is the highest that the consumer can buy and that’s considered very dangerous. I would imagine this will be the first area of legislation, a reduction by half……at least. This would probably negate any benefit of self mixing.

      Like

      • The TPD have already established 20mg in 10ml bottles will be max for buying pre-mixed e liquid. I vape 18mg nicotine. They are so ignorant about the whole situation, they might not have considered the fact that a lot of vapers mix their own.

        Like

        • I think they will and as it’s a minority activity, mixing, there would be little resistance or outcry. I have a few friends that vape who like the idea of mixing but couldn’t be bothered. I went to 18 but I’m good at 12. That said I haven’t tried 18 on 100% VG.

          I don’t know what any outcome will be but I’m sure the prices will go through the roof.

          Like

    • Lovely comment – you have been hooked by the hobby! Well done. I’m going to stock up on 72 mg in GLASS BOTTLES for freezing. I read they could last 15 years like that. 15 years would make me 86 years old. 😀

      Like

  3. Are you buying in glass or decanting? my supplier is in HDPE.
    I’m looking on ebay for 50 or 100ml glass at the moment and I’ll top the bottles off with argon.
    Great minds eh!!

    Like

    • What is HDPE? Last time I bought was in plastic. Previously in glass. Currently Creme de Vape has a good price on high quality 72 mg nic in glass bottles in PG or VG. If I bought in bulk, I’d need to know it was best quality for storing.

      Like

      • Prices? yes. I’m aiming to get my stock by the end of this year. The regulations come in in April – before that, it will be a scramble. And the other thing is that some might try to cash in by providing inferior stuff.

        Like

  4. High density polyethylene.
    I looked at crème de vape, prices ok but their VG 72 base comes pre diluted by 20% with de ionised (distilled water). I’d rather decide my own dilution rate. Also there could be expansion and crystallisation issues in liquids with added water when freezing especially in glass.

    I use: https://www.vapemate.co.uk/eliquid/diy-eliquid/72mg-nicotine-vg-liquid.html

    Like

  5. I also note with interest that a lot of resellers are claiming flavour concentrates, by our very own flavourologists, as their own, they’re not, they all have reworded identical descriptions and all have their origins in China I would aver. This would apply to “British” premixes in the main also.

    Like

  6. An interesting statistic: 90% of all ingredients used in vaping globally are sourced in china.
    Made in the UK……..from Chinese ingredients.

    http://www.nytimes.com/2014/12/14/business/international/chinas-e-cigarette-boom-lacks-oversight-for-safety-.html?_r=0

    Notwithstanding this is scaremongering by vested interests, from governments to big tobacco the statistic remains.

    Like

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

