The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Are we shitting in our own beds?

Leave a comment

I’ve been watching a video series on Sustainability. I must say I agreed with every word it said.

We in this Furlong home, already practise sustainability.

I personally do not buy new clothes. I get mine from the Charity shops. As we do many items we need. That way, they do not have to be manufactured twice.

Mr Furlong hasn’t bought new clothes for years. Doesn’t mean we look scruffy and unkempt.

Our Hairdresser is coming tomorrow. She just lives in the village – oops, market town, and does a really good job on our hair. She needs our money. She’s got kids.

Our furniture is old – some nice antique-old – other bits are just old and well used. We have been sitting in our arm chairs for twenty two years. Fortunately, (they were second-hand) we had them re-covered in very expensive and good quality fabric. They have lasted, and we still like them. Who wants a bland Ikea house?

The carpets here are equally pleasant. They’ve been properly cleaned once or twice. But they are nowhere near threadbare.  We are not going to replace them any time soon.

Mr Furlong repairs things.

The non-sustainable thing I do is to vape. Vaping is not as “green” as smoking. But I am careful to re-cycle the bits.

We do not eat commercially prepared food. We eat simply.

This year our Swiss Chard was magnificent. And next year, I’m going to grow more food in the special way I have been studying.

It really does worry me that we appear to be raping the planet of resources in our consumer-mania. A focused effort not to buy into it seems to be a sensible thing that most of us could do.

We must be one of the few species wilfully insistent on our own destruction.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

