The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Show us the science please

1 Comment

I found it interesting that in the International Agency for Research on Cancer’s list of The 116 things that can give you cancer – the full list Smoking and Second Hand Smoke took up more words than anything else. 

I am particularly interested in Second Hand Smoke and how they arrive at their figures. I am interested because the recent Cancer USA study found no link to Second Hand Smoke affecting/causing cancer in spouses of smokers over whole lifetimes and thousands of couples.

I’ll tell you why Smoking and Second Hand Smoke gets far more coverage than any other topic. It’s because they got lots of funding from anti-tobacco to do it.

12,000 people are KILLED – KILLED by Second Hand Smoke in the UK it is estimated. And the figures rise – and rise.

There is no way of knowing this – NO WAY! “a non-smoker’s risk of getting lung cancer can increase by a quarter by breathing in other people’s smoke. It may also increase the risk of cancers of the larynx (voice box) and pharynx (upper throat).”

Something is getting sucked out of someone’s thumb!

“13 Secondhand smoke: Otherwise known as passive smoking, a non-smoker’s risk of getting lung cancer can increase by a quarter by breathing in other people’s smoke. It may also increase the risk of cancers of the larynx (voice box) and pharynx (upper throat). It’s estimated that every year, secondhand smoke kills over 12,000 people in the UK from lung cancer, heart disease, stroke and the lung condition chronic obstructive pulmonary disease.”

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

One thought on “Show us the science please

  1. It’s the same reply I would have submitted on your previous post, I didn’t want o do it then and I don’t want to do it now but then I must, in the vain hope that some will read it!

    The whole thing is conjecture… on steroids. But it does have quite a few agendas.

    The principal agenda is the illusion of “knowing” by the heath care professions they don’t but it is very empowering.

    The next agenda is wealth generation, again driven by the illusion of knowing. The drug industry promotes it’s products at vastly exaggerated prices on the premise of knowing, most often they don’t. The M.O. here is to create a problem, blow it out of all proportion and then pose yourself as the only solution to it.

    The next agenda is governmental, they have been persuaded by the skilful presentation of the drug companies that investment in their products will lead to their overall reduction in liability.
    Let’s be under no illusion here, there is no concern for the individual at all, it’s the overall liability that is the prime concern.

    I notice to much mirth that Tamoxifen lies at 108, if memory serves that is the standard treatment for breast cancer, so we fix that and create others, you couldn’t make it up but they have.

    The bottom line is life is a terminal condition, it really does kill everyone, do you want to live it or be afeared of it. My choice is to live it. By being afeard of it you probably won’t live longer but you will negate the point of participating in it and you will enrich the people who frighten you.

    If I drop dead tomorrow I’ve had a great time, you won’t frighten me.

    What do I want from a doctor, a few prescriptions for my comfort, I need these because you have restricted the market for your own aggrandisement, and a death certificate so I can avoid the final insult of a post mortem. You can’t even die in peace, they even have their fingers in that.

    Mental note to self, I must have a lighter perspective on what is.

    Liked by 1 person

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

