The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

The last day pigging

Leave a comment

Today is the last day of my birthday binge. The Furlongs are going into a food restriction era – till the next party I suppose.

I just had a brilliant MOT – my birthday “review” at the doctors which us oldies have annually here in the UK. It’s a full health check.

I’m perfect!

Except…

For putting on 2 kg.

That pushes me into overweight by .5 kg on the BMI. But that is not anything I care about much. I just feel better slightly thinner. And on my HFLC ketogenic diet, I just can’t seem to lose any weight. I’m stuck.

Mr Furlong’s weight is going up! He cheats. He cheats a lot.

Being on a high fat, low carb diet doesn’t mean you can eat as much as you like of anything on that menu.

So from tomorrow, I’m going to change my fasting habits. I either have to not have an evening meal, or not have breakfast. Mr Furlong and I have been discussing it. I see many people have had success by eating two meals a day by cutting out one. And Mr Furlong is going to join me.

We have Tim Noakes book on our computers, The Real Meal Revolution 

SOME POINTS TO REMEMBER:
• Avoid excessive protein intake (the size and thickness of your palm without fingers is a good measure for a serving of animal protein).

• Choose fatty cuts of meat (often cheaper and tastier).

• Include a variety of foods. Diversity provides a wider spectrum of nutrients.

• Purchase foods you recognise in their natural state, ie. eat real food.

• Avoid processed and fast food.

• Stop eating when full, but satisfied.

• Don’t be too hard on yourself but do your best to get into the diet as soon as possible.

• Plan ahead.

Yup – that’s what we are doing today….

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

