The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Bead habitat

2 Comments

I thought the concept, the art in this and the blog post really uplifting today – so I’m sharing!

Fulgorine

I’ve been a little bit distracted the past couple of weeks by a new tangent. I’m fascinated by the discovery of gut flora and the concept that our bodies are more of an eco system than a single organism (since there are more microorganisms in a human body than human cells). Sometimes the wonky polymer clay beads I make have some personality, so I think of them as “creature beads”. I put the ideas together to make a bead habitat where my creature beads could live.

I suppose it can be described as an abstract 3D textile painting. I tried to make something lush and varied like a rich ecosystem (something like a garden or rock pool). I used scraps of fleece fabric that I had to hand, but I think it would have benefited from having another layer of more decorative fabric over the top. The fleece gives a…

View original post 74 more words

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

2 thoughts on “Bead habitat

  1. The most important and under researched area of our general wellbeing. We live within a near perfect organism, modify it at our peril.

    Antibiotic use and environmental considerations are dismissed. There would appear to me a pharmaceutical response to every occurrence even though it’s the pharma’s that caused it in the first place.

    I hope you will forgive a reposting I have just made on Malcolm’s site:

    “I wonder if any research has been done on differences between intestinal flora in different races and regions, I think there may be a lot going on there that we know little about, helicobacter pylori springs to mind. How many more are there. This could possibly explain differences in carbohydrate digestion.
    Antibiotic use could also be a contributing factor. Some forty years ago after taking a course of them for a kidney infection I developed ulcerative colitis, fortunately it resolved itself after near a year.
    My wife comes from the generation that were prescribed them like toffees. She suffers from crohn’s disease and has done for thirty years, there is, I’m sure, a connection but it wouldn’t be prudent, for the vested interests, to make it. It’s a great earner as it stands.”

    There’s a lot going on here but there’s no great reward in looking. Nobody’s looking for cures just continuance. There’s no money in cures, the money’s in continual medication. Me, cynical, you bet I am.

    Off for a break to my former home for a couple of weeks R&R, Nerja. so I may be a bit quiet for a while. Be well.

    Like

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

