The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Making seed balls for no till areas

6 Comments

I have got quite interested in how to garden with the least effort. A no till garden would be good. It would suit my lazy nature and the kind of garden I have. And save my hand from the pain of digging.

So I think I’m going to do this next Spring – make seed balls – or I could make them in winter to use in the Spring. Or better still, I could bring in the Furlong family strawberry pickers we used to reap our crop – the small grandchildren. They would have great fun making seed balls with me. I thought a little food colouring would help define the type of seeds we had mixed and make the whole result quite pretty.

Have a watch of this….

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

6 thoughts on “Making seed balls for no till areas

  1. Nope, I can’t get off on that. I buy the bloody things ready made, just to feed the bloody birds. Or was that not what you meant?
    I have to get people to bring me peanuts from Angleterre because The French don’t DO peanuts for birds.
    Or mayhap I am a little stressed at the moment.

    Like

    • These seed balls are not for birds. I think you mean fat balls – we buy ours ready made too. Making seed balls with clay and compost is for helping them germinate in difficult places when there is no tilling of the ground. Yesterday’s blog and movie was on the concept of not tilling…

      Like

      • Sorry. I didn’t know about that. But then I don’t know what Tilling is. Unless it is turning over the soil. And who in their right mind has got the time for this in an ordinary garden?

        However, I expect that I am being obtuse when it suits me to be. I just cut bits off and expect them to grow. Which they most often do.

        Like

        • Yes – I like those plants too! Ha ha , you are so funny. 😀

          Like

          • Am I? Am I really so. funny? Personally, I think I am utterly boring and much too clever for my own good. And there is nothing worse in the whole world than a smart arse. But then we never can quite shut our mouths.
            You re a smart arse. You just haven’t realised it yet.. But you will one day. And it is all down hill after that..
            Lord, do preserve me. But there you go.

            Never forget The Parable of the man who thanked God for being better than other people.

            Sorry about that. I had a minor aberration for a minute, and got a bit silly.

            Like

            • It’s the sardonic humour I enjoy. It’s just tough I’m a smart arse, whatever that is. Does it mean cocky, clever, arrogant, self righteous, smug or what? Whatever it is, I have had to get used to it. So now I’m perfectly happy with what I’ve got, whatever it is. I hope to remain so until death, but will take the fall if I lose my mind sooner….:-(

              Like

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

