The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

The Furlong garden and Masanobu Fukuoka

Leave a comment

The Furlong garden is a natural garden. It’s a place where most things are left alone to come and go at will – including the weeds. I have noticed over the years how full and lush our garden has become. At every time of the year there is something lovely flowering. Except in winter of course.

Our garden is full of insects, bees, butterflies, bumble bees and birds. Oh – and then there are the Wood Mice and the hedgehog.

But we have one area that has proved constantly disappointing – the vegetable garden where I have tried to grow salad and spinach which I especially love. Every year it is dug over, pottered with, arranged and planted with seeds. And it’s always a failure. Except for THIS year. Because of my hand, there was none of that stuff in the spring. I just left it to do its thing. This year we have had the most wonderful crop of Swiss Chard growing amongst the dock, the strawberries and a collection of various weeds. Obviously not doing anything has been a great advantage for the Chard.

This is an astonishing little movie about “doing nothing” for a gardener.

Next year I’m not going to bother either – just chuck some seeds about and wait and see….

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

