The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Soup supper and other diabetic thoughts

4 Comments

Oh Mr Furlong and I have had a laugh. We are watching one of the interminable series on Sky. 

I was holding my bone broth in a mug, feeling tranquil, relaxed even. On screen was a scene of two people talking and at rest, sitting at a table in a log cabin. Suddenly, the loudest gunshot, quite unexpected, nearly decanted my supper soup into my lap. It was only with great dexterity I managed to field it into an upright position.

I have taken to not eating after six o’clock and then only having bone broth. Though I do have nettle tea after that. Nettle tea drops blood sugar noticeably. And not eating after six o’clock allows me to fast till breakfast tomorrow. It does wonders and is keeping my blood sugar normal.

I eat a high fat, low carb Primal diet. Lots of fat. It makes me feel good. I’d do it even if I wasn’t trying to avoid bad readings at the doctor’s.

Mr Furlong is eating naughty food tonight, but then he hasn’t got his HBA1C on Thursday.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

4 thoughts on “Soup supper and other diabetic thoughts

  1. Right. Back to Nettles. I won’t bore you with my minor health problems. Suffice to say that I would rather die than go to a Doctor. I am a self healer, even if it doesn’t work. Although it obviously has so far.
    I am not diabetic, but I do have a sugar problem. And it’s bloody hard work staying off it.

    Off out in a minute to pick Nettles. Nettle Tea might stop me waking up with an adrenaline rush in the middle of the night.

    Like

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

